Follow GRA_rogermd on Twitter 
  Index GRA Registration Contact Us
Home Capital Expenditure Innovation Wales Scotland Europe Small Firms
Assisted Areas English Regions Welsh Areas Scottish Areas England Tier 3

New to this site?
About us - GRA Ltd
Our Success Stories
Grant Applications
Terms of Business

Register NOW

on UK Grant Schemes of importance to all Manufacturing Industry and to those Service Sector Companies with a nation-wide facility.

Of interest to ALL companies in the process of planning or considering any major investment in mainland Great Britain.

REGISTER TODAY to gain immediate FREE access..

All information submitted will be held in strict confidence and not divulged to any third party without specific authority.

Click to email us



GRA - UK Company Grants Resource - Advertising by Google

The Assisted Areas for Scotland

Assisted Areas in Scotland

Map of all Scotland showing the Assisted Areas.


Highlands and Islands Enterprise (H&IE) operates its own scheme within Tier 1 areas.



English regions are divided into the nine RDA's as shown above.

Grant Aid (SFI): Grant Aid of more than £2M is usually referred to the DTI in London for direct appraisal in consultation with the relevant regional RDA.

SFI under £2M: Grant Aid of up £2M is usually appraised by the SFI section of the relevant RDA in which the project is to take place.

The minimum grant that can be applied for is £10,000, so a company will need to be spending between £70,000 and £135,000 to trigger the minimum amount of grant. This will depend on the location of the project and also the size of the business.

SFI for SME's in Tier 3 areas:For SME's in Tier 3 areas, for example, if a company employs 200 people and the project is located in a Tier 3 area, it is eligible to apply for 7.5% of the project costs as an SFI grant. So it would need to be spending £135,000 in capital items to trigger the minimum grant.

Wales has similar aid schemes as the English Regions but delivered through the Welsh Assembly Government as RSA and AIG.

Scotland's similar aid schemes in the form of RSA and IFG are delivered by the Scottish Parliament.

Key Grant Areas are:

Tier 1: Articles 87(3)a

Tier 2: Articles 87(3)c

Tier 3: Areas of identified special need agreed with the European Union in 2007

Click on tabs to go to pages with specific and relevant detail for either England, Wales or Scotland

11.9.03© GRA 2003-2007


Top of Page Index About GRA Terms of Business Confidentiality