Follow GRA_rogermd on Twitter 
  Index GRA Registration Contact Us
Home Capital Expenditure Innovation Wales Scotland Europe Small Firms
Assisted Areas English Regions Welsh Areas Scottish Areas England Tier 3

New to this site?
About us - GRA Ltd
Our Success Stories
Grant Applications
Terms of Business

Register NOW

on UK Grant Schemes of importance to all Manufacturing Industry and to those Service Sector Companies with a nation-wide facility.

Of interest to ALL companies in the process of planning or considering any major investment in mainland Great Britain.

REGISTER TODAY to gain immediate FREE access..

All information submitted will be held in strict confidence and not divulged to any third party without specific authority.

Click to email us



GRA - UK Company Grants Resource - Advertising by Google


The ASSISTED AREAS of Great Britain are based upon a map drawn up and agreed with the European Commission. The latest map was formally approved by the European Commission on 20 December 2006. The map will run until 31st December 2013.

Click to see LARGE Area Map

Click to see Aid Ceilings Map

As can be seen the basis of the map is to provide Tier 1 and Tier 2 areas with Grant for Business Investment (GBI) (formerley Selective Finance for Investment in England - SFI) and Regional Selective Assistance grants (RSA) in Wales and Scotland.

Additionally agreement has now been reached whereby other areas of England, have available a lower level of GBI grant aid to assist Small and Medium companies. These areas are classified as Tier 3 (see tab England Tier 3), - there is a similar lower level grant scheme within the Single investment Fund (formerly known as AIG) for Welsh companies and IFG for Scottish companies (see tabs in the respective sections) covering those areas not applicable to RSA.

It should be noted however that Government Aid can be only be provided by these current grant schemes within the constricts set out the European Commission which among other constraints require a degree of proof that a project will not proceed without the requested grant aid.

Responsibility for delivery of the schemes in England for grants under £2M is that of the Regional Development Agencies for GBI grants with larger GBI applications having a direct involvement in the decision taking process by DBERR (over £2M).

In Wales, the Single Investment Fund (including the capital grants scheme elements - RSA and AIG, are administered by the Welsh Assembly Government (but not the WDA - a common misconception - and which is now defunct) from offices in Cardiff, Swansea for South Wales, and Colwyn Bay for North Wales areas. (see further detailed information under the Wales tab).

Scotland has its own variant schemes of RSA and the smaller grant, IFG scheme, both administered by the Scottish Executive. Again it should be noted that this is an Assembly Department directly under the auspices of the Scottish Parliament. (see further detailed information under the Scotland tab).


Assisted Areas - England


English regions are divided into the nine RDA's as shown above.

Grant Aid (GBI): Grant Aid of more than £2M is usually referred to BIS in London for direct appraisal - this grant is only available for exceptional cases.

GBI under £2M: Grant Aid of up £2M is usually appraised by the GBI section of the relevant RDA in which the project is to take place - no longer available.

The minimum grant that can be applied for is £10,000, so a company will need to be spending between £50,000 and £100,000 to trigger the minimum amount of grant. This will depend on the location of the project and also the size of the business.

GBI for SME's in Tier 3 areas:For SME's in Tier 3 areas, for example, if a company employs 200 people and the project is located in a Tier 3 area, it is eligible to apply for 10% of the project costs as an GBI grant. So it would need to be spending £100,000 on capital items to trigger the minimum grant.

Wales has similar aid schemes as the English Regions but delivered through the Welsh Assembly Government as RSA Cymru through the Single Investment Fund.

Scotland's similar aid schemes in the form of RSA are delivered by the Scottish Parliament.

Key Grant Areas are:

Tier 1: Articles 87(3)a

Tier 2: Articles 87(3)c

Tier 3: Areas of identified special need agreed with the European Union in 2007

Click on tabs to go to pages with specific and relevant detail for either England, Wales or Scotland

13.12.10 GRA 2003-2011


Top of Page Index About GRA Terms of Business Confidentiality